The Sketchbook Project 2011

by Nathanael

Back in the fall, I signed up for this year’s Sketchbook Project, run by the Brooklyn Art Library. I wasn’t sure how it would turn out or what I would even sketch, but my ideas quickly came together. My sketchbook will join that of 28,834 artists from 94 countries around the world in a tour around the United States at various art libraries and museums.

The first leg of the tour will begin at the home location of the Brooklyn Art Library from February 19 through 27. Hopefully I can go see it!

After weeks of deliberation on the subject of the book, I decided to begin with some old sketches of characters I created for my novel and create a Reference Guide for the characters. I developed a typography system, a style of costume, and even a map of the specific part of the fictional galaxy where the story takes place (THAT was fun). I had to do each signature individually, then trim and spray them to set the lead. Finally I experimented with different binding styles and ended up inventing one myself that I thought tied in (no pun intended) with the theme.

I will be saying goodbye to my sketchbook next week when I mail it off for good to Brooklyn. It was such a fun experience, so I hope to participate in this project for many years to come! Enjoy the pics…

